39 Dollar Glasses

39dollarglasses.com

Quick Notes:


Introduction:

39 Dollar Glasses is situated in the US (New York). Pricing in USD. They sell single-vision, bi-focal, and progressive glasses. Methods of contact include online live support (8 hours a day Mon-Fri), a web inquiry form, a 1-800 and direct phone number, fax, and a mailing address listed on their site. They accept Visa, MasterCard, AmEx, and Discover. They are BBB-accredited carrying an "A+" rating.


Impressions:

39 Dollar Glasses has been around over a decade now (since 2000), and continues to be well-suited toward the nervous first-time buyer. At times it almost appears that they're just as much in the "peace of mind" business as they are in the "glasses" business. The largest downside to 39 dollar glasses is the price – they're at the higher end of the "discount lenses" scale, and don't include a lot of freebies. On one hand, your $39 gets you Polycarbonate lenses on single-vision glasses – a good step up from the basic CR39 plastic lenses offered elsewhere. On the other hand, adding an anti-reflective coating bumps up the price of your glasses by $25, where many other retailers offer the coating for free (or at least a lower cost), although to be fair many of those other retailers are putting the AR coating on CR39. If you're looking for Polycarbonate lenses, it's actually a pretty reasonable deal. If you don't mind CR39 or glass though and are looking to spend as little as possible, you may want to look elsewhere.

It's worth noting they've also added a "100% worry free guarantee" which is laid out quite simply. If you don't like the glasses, you can contact them within 10 days of receiving them for a refund (minus shipping) or an exchange. If you live in the US, they'll pay for the return shipping. There are a couple lenses that are excluded (the branded UltimateViewHD and Varilux lenses only qualify for a 50% refund), but the vast majority of lenses certainly seem to be eligible.

It's clear that 39DollarGlasses is quite proud of the reputation they've established over the years. The BBB logo on their site links directly to their listing on the BBB page, clicking on their ResellerRatings logo hops right over to that site, and in the past they've display excerpts about themselves from Readers Digest and the Wall Street Journal on the main page. They've also added a PowerReviews Express section for each frame (though honestly I tend to mistrust review sections on product pages as they can be prone to astroturfing, incentivization, etc). Looking through reader input I've received as well as other resources on the web, I get the strong impression that 39DollarGlasses makes every attempt to resolve issues when they arise.

The majority of their plastic & metal frames are $39.00 which includes single-vision lenses. They do offer a selection of other frames (rimless, bendable titanium, etc) but those generally cost more. Most of their frames are offered in 2-3 colors which vary depending on the frame selected. While they do not carry a name-brand designer line, they have maintained a consistent selection of frames to the point where if you bought frames years ago and want new ones of the same type, they'll probably still carry them. One nicety is that despite getting a mix of $39 and higher priced frames when you first select a category, the moment you sort by price, you've got about 250 frames at the $39 mark. So while that initial $39 is higher than many other retailers start with, that price stays consistent rather than bumping up after a page of frames.

Single-vision lenses come free with the frame. They also offer tinted, polarized, Transitions (brand), and 1.67/1.74 High-Index lenses. Bi-focals and progressives are also offered in tinted, polarized, and Transitions (brand) variants. Up to -12 SPH is offered (no extra "high-prescription" charge). High CYL values (above +/-3.25) will require you to choose a higher index though. One thing you may notice is that many of the lenses are name-branded with names such as UltimateView HD®, Seiko®, Drivewear®, NuPolar®, Transitions®, SMARTshades® and Varilux®, the latter coming with a certificate of authenticity. Through my research, every indication has been that all their lenses seem to be crafted (and the glasses put together) in a lab located in the USA.


Website and Ordering:

The 39 Dollar Glasses website remains excellent – particularly for first time buyers. Much of the site is very step-by-step in a way that's simple and non-complicated, but with a good bit of information available when desired.

As soon as you choose a frame, the next page gives some basic measurements, and includes a "SmartFit" section on the same page which lets you browse between 12 different faces (6 male, 6 female) to see how glasses look on different face shapes. They also have a PDF file you can download and print, cut out, and then put against your face and check out in a mirror if you want to get an idea of how they'll look on you. On top of that, they've added the ability to upload your own picture and see how the glasses might look on you that way, known as "ExactFit". With the flexibility they've added to it (while maintaining the simplicity), it is easily one of the best try-on features I've used. That said, it currently suffers from a bug where if you click for more info on the "PD" measurement from within "Step 3" of the ExactFit process, you will be unable to close the PD popup. Very unfortunate that it seems to have missed testing as that will quickly frustrate a potential customer. Ignoring that issue for the moment, one of the largest concerns a new buyer typically has is "how will they look on me", and 39DollarGlasses definitely has covered that area from a few angles.

39 Dollar Glasses has not yet implemented a mobile version of their site, so mobile users get the desktop version but without the try-on feature.

Going through each option during the order process, just about anything someone might not know is usually clickable for a small popup with information. How to read you prescription, how to take a PD measurement (they even include a printable ruler in case you don't happen to have a junk-drawer full of them), details about each lens, etc. However, the information could use a little more depth and perhaps a few pictures to help show the differences between some of the lenses. One other issue I came across in my recent browse through is that after selecting a tint in Step 3, you're brought to a new page to select the color. But that new page doesn't list the previous item you just chose – it would be nice if it at least said "tint for your transitions selection", perhaps even with some additional help there.

They do keep a "Having trouble ordering? We're here to help" note in a predominant position along with the toll-free number. It almost gives the feeling of being hand-held throughout the process.

Checking out as a Guest is allowed, which is always a plus.

It's worth noting that while browsing, I never felt as though I was being bait-and-switched or pressured into something more expensive. The cheapest stuff was always selected by default, and the only thing it mentioned as a "recommendation" was the $25 AR coating. That said, the upgrades themselves are heavier in price.

The short version is that the 39 Dollar Glasses site works to keep the experience clean, simple, and elegant. I do have a few minor issues as mentioned, but to be fair, I had to look for them. Overall it was a pleasant shopping experience.


Pricing and Value:

The majority of plastic/metal single-vision glasses come to $39.00 complete with UV protection and scratch-resistance. Bi-focals come to $89.00 ($99.00 for progressives) and also include UV protection and scratch-resistance. Tint is offered in 7 colors (brown, grey, G-15, blue, rose, orange, yellow), but adds to the price. Transitions lenses are offered in Brown or Grey.

Despite the basic offerings being priced higher than most other retailers, the fact that your $39.00 gets you polycarbonate lenses makes it a pretty reasonable deal. Stepping up to anything other than a non-basic lens starts to escalate the price quite quickly, though you're generally getting name-brand lenses for the money. However, this probably isn't the place for someone simply looking for a backup pair of glasses, since you can get a basic pair of glass or CR39 lenses/frames complete with an AR coating for less elsewhere. That said, if this is your first time buying glasses online, you're looking for polycarbonate and/or name-brand lenses, or are planning on using a FSA account, 39 Dollar Glasses is definitely worth checking out.


Lens offerings (based on a $39 pair of frames/lenses):

 Single vision  Bifocal (+$50)  Progressive (+$60)
Clear Polycarbonate (1.59)  free  free
Clear Polycarbonate Illumina Brand (1.59)  free
Clear Polycarbonate UltimateView HD Free-Form Brand (1.59)  +$59.95
Clear Polycarbonate Varilux Comfort New Edition Brand (1.59)  +$99.00
Clear Seiko Brand Super High Index (1.67)  +$49.95 (free AR)
Clear Ultra-high Index (1.74)  +$89.95 (free AR)
Tinted CR39 (1.50)  +$9.95  +$19.95
Tinted Polycarbonate (1.59)  +$19.95
Tinted Polycarbonate UltimateViewHD Free-Form Brand (1.59)  +$69.90
Tinted Polycarbonate Varilux Comfort New Edition Brand (1.59)  +$108.95
Tinted Seiko Brand Super High Index (1.67)  +$59.90
Polarized NuPolar Brand CR39 (1.50)  +$49.90  +$88.90
Polarized NuPolar Brand Polycarbonate (1.59)  +$88.90  +$98.90
Polarized UltimateView HD Free-Form Brand Polycarbonate (1.59)  +$99.90
Polarized Transitions NuPolar Brand photochromic  +$89.00  +$99.00
Transitions Brand CR39 photochromic (1.50)  +$49.90  +$88.90
SMARTshades clearLIGHT Brand photochromic (1.58)  +$49.95
SMARTshades Optical Dynamics Brand photochromic (1.59)  +$49.95
Transitions Brand Polycarbonate photochromic (1.59)  +$88.90
Transitions Ultimate View HD Free-Form Brand Polycarbonate photochromic  +$99.90
Transitions VI Varilux Comfort New Edition Brand Polycarbonate photochromic  +147.90
AR coating  $24.95  not available  $24.95
Anti Scratch  free  free  free
UV protection  free  free  free

Shipping adds $4.95 in the US, and $12.95 internationally.

The price charts are created by hand – if you notice any errors, please contact me.

While more expensive than a number of other online retailers, 39DollarGlasses has situated themselves well as the go-to retailer for those new to buying glasses online. Even for veteran buyers, the price is still reasonable enough and they may very well be the best place to buy glasses if looking for vast polycarbonate offerings.



39 Dollar Glasses Review (my purchase)

39dollarglasses.com

Personal Experiences

Aug 11, 2009 - An order was placed for glasses. I went with the cheapest frames ($39.00) which came with free polycarbonate lenses, and added an AR coating ($24.95). I used the coupon link from the website (15% off) which reduced the price by $9.59. The glasses included free anti-scratch and UV coatings. Shipping was $12.95 to Canada, bringing the total to $67.31.

Aug 12, 2009 - A day later, I received an email stating that the glasses had shipped, which included a tracking number.

Aug 20, 2009 - The glasses arrived. The envelope stated they were shipped from New York. Overall, a very reasonable shipping time from the US to Canada.


Packaging

Inside the envelope was a clamshell case, which contained the glasses as well as a micro-fibre cloth. The case was noticably durable as soon as I held it. I resisted the urge to grab a sledge hammer and see how much of a beating it would take, but needless to say, I'm confident in it's ability to protect the glasses during transit.


Pictures

(click on any of the pictures to open a larger version in a pop-up window)
39DollarGlasses envelope   39DollarGlasses contents
Very simple, just the case, glasses, and a cloth.


First impressions & Quality

The frames were very solid, which was noticible right away. They're also hinged and overall they have a good sturdy, quality feel to them. The lenses were cut precisely to fit the frames, and seemed to be optically correct throughout. Neither the nosepads nor the frames needed any adjusting.

The AR coating reflects light sources as a light purple (green/purple tend to be the common colors), and no defects were present. The lenses were quite clean and didn't need any rinsing.

I put the lenses through the "hot water test", and they passed without any cracking.

All around, the glasses seem to be a nice basic quality pair with a good solid feel to them, and I'd expect them to last quite a few years.
39DollarGlasses inspecting lenses #1   39DollarGlasses inspecting lenses #2   39DollarGlasses glasses on microfiber cloth   39DollarGlasses inspecting lenses #3


Final Thoughts

I was pretty pleased with the glasses overall. $39 does get to be at the higher end of the "discount glasses" spectrum, but they do include polycarbonate lenses as standard which makes it very competitive with other polycarbonate offerings. The down side is the price of the AR coating – at $25, it easily adds over 50% to the total cost of a basic pair of glasses. It did pass the hot water test (and had it failed I would have reamed on it hard), so it's likely to be at least a quality coating. To be perfectly fair, most other retailers charge a lot more for polycarbonate to begin with (even when they include free AR), so it probably isn't as big a deal as I've made it out to be – the grand total for poly & AR is still very competitive with others.


Would I buy from 39DollarGlasses again?

I probably would. I tend to like the properties of polycarbonate, and both the frames and lenses met my expectations and were great for the price.


Would I recommend 39DollarGlasses to others?

It depends on the person. The website's very new-user-friendly, the quality is great, and the price is very competitive as well. They're also one of very few to have resolved 100% of their BBB complaints.

For someone looking for a quality pair of frames with polycarbonate lenses, 39DollarGlasses would probably be one of my first recommendations. For polycarbonate, it's really the way to go if someone's looking for quality at a good price.

That said, for someone who's looking for a simple cheap back-up pair, they'd probably be best served to get a standard CR-39 lens elsewhere.




39 Dollar Glasses (my earlier order)

39dollarglasses.com

Personal Experiences

Jan 4, 2006 - I placed on order for glasses via the website. I selected regular metal frames, Polycarbonate Transition lenses, and an AR coating. Polycarbonate Transition lenses are typically a lot more expensive. Therefore, after shipping it came out to $160.80 (note that regular polycarbonate lenses with frames are available for $39 + shipping).

Jan 5, 2006 - I received an email stating: "Your order is expected to ship in 2-4 business days. Shipping method: USPS Global Priority. Order total: $160.80. You will receive an additional email containing your delivery confirmation number immediately after your order is shipped." Their website allows you to check the status of your order, so not wanting to miss the 'shipped' day, I checked the status of my order daily, which always read "In Production".

Jan 16, 2006 - I received my order in the mail. While I was happy to get my glasses, I was surprised, as I never received an email that said they had shipped, nor did their website ever change the status of my order. It still showed "In Production". Not the end of the world, but had the glasses become lost in the mail, I wouldn't have really had much of an indication, as the status page never changed. Free with the glasses was a hard clamshell case and micro-fiber cloth which has a string so that it can also be used to carry the glasses.


Pictures

(click on any of the images to open the image full-size in a new window)
39 Dollar Glasses envelope   39 Dollar Glasses envelope 2   39 Dollar Glasses case   39 Dollar Glasses opened case   39 Dollar Glasses contents   39 Dollar Glasses laid out
#1 and #2 are of the packaging, nothing fancy. #3 is the hard clamshell case. While not indestructable, definitely sufficient for shipping, as you would need a fair bit of weight to crush/break it, #4 is the way it was when first opened. You can't see it, but there was some sort of 'debris' all over the lenses. It rinsed off easily with water. #5 and #6 are just a couple extra pictures I took to display the glasses.

Jan 16, 2006 (continued) - I examined the frames, which seemed to be straight and constructed well. They fit perfectly and didn't need any adjusting. Bright light that ends up reflected in the lens shows as green, which seems to be the color of the AR coating. While examining the lenses, I noticed a vertical hairline scratch in the right lens, just left of center, extending about 5mm from the top and going all the way down to the bottom. I put the glasses on and noticed within a few minutes that light in certain situations would catch this scratch in such a way that it would cause an annoying blur (similar to the blur caused when dirt or a smudge gets on a lens).

Pictures of the scratch (click for full-sized image)
39 Dollar Glasses scratch 1   39 Dollar Glasses scratch 2
I apologize for the "messy" backgrounds. The digital camera I was using had difficulty catching light reflecting from the scratch and I had to take over 20 pictures from different locations in my home subjected to varying amounts of light before I was able to get decent shots of the scratch. Clicking on either of the above images will open a full size picture in a new window. I have labelled the areas where the scratch is.


Jan 16, 2006 (continued) - I went to the 39dollarglasses website and filled out their online form, giving as much detail about the scratch as I could, and asking what their policy is in this situation. By Friday, Jan 20th (4 days later), I had not received a response, so I sent another message via their online form. Monday morning (23rd), I receieved the following reply:
Thank you for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear you received your new glasses with a scratch in the lens. We sincerely apologize if we may have caused you any inconvenience. We will be glad to remake the scratched lens for free of charge. Please send the glasses back along with the original invoice and a note describing the problem to:
39dollarglasses.com
3075 Veterans Memorial Hwy.
Suite 230
Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
Once we receive the glasses, we will give you a courtesy call
.


On Jan 26th, I sent the glasses back via Xpresspost (a postal method which includes tracking information) I included a picture and a description as well. Fast forward to February 17th, and I had not received the glasses, nor had I been given the courtesy call. I sent an email asking for an update to the status of the glasses. After the weekend (Feb 20th), I received the following in an email:
Thank you for your inquiry. We had received your glasses on February 2nd and sent them to the lab to have the right lens remade due to the scratches we found. Your remake order was shipped out on February 15th via USPS Global Priority Mail. This service can take within 7-14 business days to deliver. If the order does not arrive by March 6th, please contact us.


Feb 23, 2006 - I received my glasses in the mail. I took pictures of the packaging, but it was packaged almost identically to the way I received them originally, so there's little point in including another set. However, there was a problem... Yes, they replaced the lens, but believe it or not, the new lens had a scratch in it. I kid you not, there are pictures below.

39 Dollar Glasses new scratch 1   39 Dollar Glasses new scratch 2   39 Dollar Glasses new scratch 3
These were taken with a different digital camera, as it caught the images much better. However, the close-ups are a little blurry. Click any of the images to open in a new window. Before anyone asks, no, it's not the same scratch. this one actually extends across the entire length of the lens (the other began 5mm from the top). Also, this one is slightly to the right.


Feb 23, 2006 (continued) - At this point in time, I've given up, and decided to leave things where they are. Rather than paying shipping to send the glasses back again (and waiting until late March / early April to receive them back again), it's got to the point where both myself and readers should have an idea of what you might expect from 39 Dollar Glasses. The money spent in shipping would probably be better spent purchasing new glasses from another retailer to review anyway. The glasses are still perfectly useable 90% of the time. For the rest of the time when a reflection becomes an issue, I have other pairs.

You can probably guess what I'm about to say now. I'm extremely disappointed with my experience with 39 Dollar Glasses. To be honest, the scratch didn't bother me that much to begin with. In fact, the only reason I sent back the glasses was for the sake of this review. With a minor issue, I usually won't bother contacting the retailers before placing the review. After all, these are discount retailers, and I expect that minor flaws may present themselves from time to time, and I will simply include them in my review. However, on major issues (which I believe a scratch like that is), I will always contact the retailer and ask if they will fix it, even if I normally wouldn't have personally. I then wait until the retailer has had their opportunity to resolve the situation before posting the review. Before you ask "why not post the first half and then update it later", it's because I know for a fact that quite a few retailers visit this site, and if I were to post half a review, they would immediately be able to determine which customer I am, and I can guarantee you that in some cases my glasses would receive special treatment and care, and you would not receive a fair review.


So what in particular was I disappointed with?

A few extremely minor issues first of all. The order page was never updated, the glasses had some sort of debris on them the first time I received them, it took 2 messages before I got a response the first time, and I wasn't given the "courtesy call" they told me I would receive when they got my glasses back. None of those are major issues, but are all worth mentioning.

The one major issue I had was of course the scratched lens. I know mistakes and oversights do happen. However both times, before sending me the glasses, a simple 5 second inspection would have easily caught the scratch. Remember, when I returned the glasses the first time, I also sent a detailed explanation and even had a picture with the scratch circled. I would think that in a situation like that, a retailer would at least take a little extra care in ensuring everything is right the second time around, but it seems in this case, that was not so.

Depite all that, there is some good to be said for them. Ordering from their website was a breeze, and aside from the scratched lens, the quality of the glasses seems to be really good. The customer service was also pretty good, as they got back to me within one business day (2 out of 3 times anyway). They also didn't give me any hassle, and were quick to accept the glasses back to have the lens remade.

  Days
Total time between ordering and delivery (first time) 12
Total time between returning glasses and receiving them 28

Would I buy from 39 Dollar Glasses again?
Probably not.

Would I recommend 39 Dollar Glasses to others?
Maybe. They wouldn't be one of the first places I'd recommend, but they do have a few things going for them. First of all, despite my experience, I don't hear a lot of bad about them, so I have to assume that it's because the quality is usually fairly high. Customer service itself seems to be good as well, and they're also one of very few who have resolved every one of their BBB complaints.



39 Dollar Glasses Video Review



Topics from the 39 Dollar Glasses section of the old forums...

 Topics   Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
Sticky: Read before Registering! (0)
0admin571Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:25 amJan 21, 2007
admin
My purchase experience (0)
0amelia37545Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:32 pmMar 15, 2008
amelia37
Coupon codes (0)
0admin1690Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:49 pmJan 31, 2007
admin
My purchase experience (3)
3DeltaDog22323Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:33 pmOct 26, 2006
wurlybird9
Purchase experience (0)
0DizzyLizzy1594Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:37 pmMar 17, 2006
DizzyLizzy


Below is the original write-up for 39 Dollar Glasses (from 2006-2009). It's been kept around for posterity.

39 Dollar Glasses

"Discount Prices on High Quality Eyeglasses"
http://www.39dollarglasses.com


For the time being (at least for affiliates), 39 Dollar Glasses has replaced some of their coupon codes with coupon "links". Both are included below. Please note they're not "stackable" with each other, so you'll have to choose whether 10% or $10 makes more sense for you.

10% Off Any Purchase at 39DollarGlasses! (discount applied at checkout)

$10 Off Any Purchase at 39DollarGlasses! (discount applied at checkout)

Introduction

39 Dollar Glasses is located in New York (USA). Pricing in USD. They display a 1-800 number, direct number, fax, and have online and email support, as well as a physical mailing address displayed on their "Customer Support" page. They accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Their site has an option when you click the "International" menu which will show prices in your local currency.


Impressions

This was one of the first sites I came across and actually looked through extensively. All I can say is wow. When you choose a frame, along-side the information, you're shown a picture of a person wearing the frame. They also have for each frame a total of 12 pictures (6 male 6 female) of people with different shaped heads wearing the frame. If that's not enough, you can also view a .pfd of the frame which if printed, is actual size, so you can cut it out, put it against your face, and have something of an idea of what it will look like. Want to know what the glasses will look like if tinted..? With their "SmartFit Color Selector" you can see the frames in their available colors with the available tints.

The ordering process is very intuitive and easy to use. Having trouble reading your prescription? There's a "SmartFit Rx Help" button you can click which gives information on reading prescriptions written different ways. You can also get detailed information on any of the lenses they offer just by clicking on the name of the lens "package".

The $39 glasses they offer are their Metal and Plastic selections with Clear Polycarbonate lenses (some of their "Kid's Eyeglasses" are the same price as well). Stepping up to Rimless, Bendable Titanium, Semi Rimless, or others brings the price up to $89, and higher in some cases (Designer, etc)

The biggest downside is that despite the impressive website, $39 is getting a little steep for a 'discount' retailer, and getting anything except the Metal or Plastic brings the price up that much more. All their lenses have free scratch-resistant and UV-protective coatings, but adding an AR coating is an extra $24.95. However, to be fair, it's entirely possible that they use higher quality frames. Many of their lenses are also made by name-brand companies like Essilor®, Sola®, Seiko®, and Transitions®. Some lenses, such as their genuine Varilux® lenses also come with a certificate of authenticity. You can get more information by visiting the "Product Info / About Our Lenses" section of their website.

This site could very well be a God-send for first-time buyers. Easy to navigate, easy to use, easy to order. A lot of thought was put into the design of their website. Unfortunately you have to plunk a little bit more money down for your investment. They seem to be well liked, they're quite popular, and I really haven't come across a lot of people who have had bad experiences with them. The BBBOnline.org website gives them a "satisfactory" rating, and shows a record of 2 complaints, both of which were resolved.


Pricing (based on a $39 pair of frames/lenses)

(package names have been abbreviated) Single Vision $39.00 Bifocals $79.00 Progressives $89.00
Clear      
Polycarbonate included included included
Seiko 1.67 Super High-Index + $49.95 - -
       
Tinted Sunglass Lenses      
CR39 Tinted + $9.95 + $9.95 + $9.95
Polycarbonate Tinted + $19.95 + $19.95 + $19.95
Seiko 1.67 Super High-Index Sun Lenses (Dark Tint) + $59.90 - -
       
Polarized Sunglass Lenses      
CR39 Polarized + $49.90 + $88.90 + $59.95
Polycarbonate Polarized + $88.90 + $98.90 + $98.90
       
Clear Inside/Dark Outside Lenses      
CR39 Transitions Lenses + $49.90 + $88.90 + $59.95
Polycarbonate Quantum Transitions Lenses + $88.90 - + $98.90
       
Anti Reflective Coating (not avail with Tinted Lenses) + $24.95 + $24.95 + $24.95
       
Shipping      
DHL Priority 3-4 day $5.95 $5.95 $5.95
DHL 2nd Day Express $10.95 $10.95 $10.95
DHL Overnight Express $16.90 $16.90 $16.90
USPS Global Priority $7.95 $7.95 $7.95

A pair of single vision lenses without any add-ons is $44.95 after shipping if you live in the US.



Website Ratings

Category Rating Details
Website Excellent Website is easy to navigate. Frames can be saved in .pdf format and printed, can be viewed on different shaped heads, and can be viewed in their available colors and with available tints. Plenty of information about lens options available. Website very well designed.
Selection Good About 30 frames (Metal and Plastic) that qualified for the $39 pricing. Others available were Rimless, Semi-Rimless, Designer, Bendable Titanium, and others. Nice children's selection (both Kid's and Nickelodean).
Frame Info Excellent Dimensions given, and can be seen in each color and tint. Only thing lacking was weight.
Lens Options Great Clear, Tinted, Polarized, and Transitions lenses all offered. Various tint colors to choose from. They also have brand name lenses like Essilor®, Sola®, Seiko®, and Transitions®. Downsides are that tints are not offered in various degrees of darkness, and because of the 'packages' style of offerings, you are unable to get certain configurations. For example, the only options for clear lenses are Poly and High-Index (you cannot get Glass or CR39).
Value Good $39.00 for a discount store seems pricey when you consider the pricing of other discount stores. However, when ordering you do have a very good idea of what your frames and lenses will look like. The website itself is also quite helpful when choosing frames and lenses. That alone could make it worth the price.